Tsunami Notification Zones

B.C.’s coastal communities are divided into five notification zones. Know your zone in advance of a tsunami.

  • Zone A (North Coast and Haida Gwaii)
  • Zone B (Central Coast and Northeast Vancouver Island Coast, including Kitimat, Bella Coola and Port Hardy)
  • Zone C (Outer West Coast of Vancouver Island from Cape Scott to Port Renfrew)
  • Zone D (Juan de Fuca Strait from Jordan River to Greater Victoria, including the Saanich Peninsula)
  • Zone E (Strait of Georgia including the Gulf Islands, Greater Vancouver and Johnstone Strait)